Rhythms of Silence


The solo-format is rather unusual for drummers and percussionist. It limits, and on the same hand it opens spaces. Music from the heart, coming from silence and going back to silence…

I play on percussive sound instruments with many overtones, like gongs, singing bowls, hang and special framedrums. This ragbag of instruments will be enriched by overtone-singing and the indian syllyble-language Konnakol. Therefore it comes to a very unusual mix, which results in long, muslilayered, trance-like and melodic rhyhtm- and sounspaces. This lets vibrate the audience in different levels.

I like to give the term “worldmusic” another note: here it is not only about the reproduction of music from different cultures, but about the opening of inner Worlds through music, which touches us in our origin.


The same named CD was released in 2011. It was a try, to connect my different fields of work together. The CD can be purchased here in my shop, as well as on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and other digital music stores.

Rhythmen der Stille

Framedrum_Hoch

Die für Schlagzeuger und Percussionisten eher unübliche Form des solistischen Auftritts limitiert und öffnet Räume zugleich. Musik vom Herzen, aus der Stille kommend und wieder in die Stille führend…

Ich spiele auf obertonreichen perkussiven Klanginstrumenten wie Gongs, Klangschalen, Hang und speziellen Rahmentrommeln. Ergänzt wird das Sammelsurium durch Obertongesang und die indische Rhythmus-Silbensprache Konnakol. Dadurch ergibt sich ein ungewöhnlicher Mix der lange, mehrschichtige, tranceartige und melodiöse Rhythmus- und Klangräume entstehen lässt und die Zuhörer auf vielen Ebenen zum Schwingen bringt.

Ich möchte dem Begriff „Weltmusik“ eine neue Note geben: Es geht hier nicht nur um das reproduzieren von Musik aus verschiedenen Kulturen, sondern um das erschliessen von neuen inneren Welten durch Musik, die uns im Ursprung berührt.

Rhythms_of_silence_Cover_Hi

Die 2011 erschienene gleichnamige CD ist ein Versuch, die verschiedenen Felder meines Schaffens zu verbinden. Die CD ist sowohl hier im Shop als auch auf iTunes, Amazon, Spotify oder anderen Downloadportalen erhältlich